News Releases

News Releases
Qwest Foundation Announces North Dakota Teachers and Technology Grant Recipients

b>, N.D., Nov. 19, 2011 – The Qwest Foundation and the North Dakota Educational Technology Council today announced the 2011 Teachers and Technology grant recipients. This is the fifth group of teachers to win grants since the program started in 2006.   North Dakota teachers from five schools were awarded $5,000 to implement a new technology or program in their classroom. 

“The Teachers and Technology grant program is a great opportunity for educators to transform their classroomsBlickensderfer, Qwest vice president for North Dakota. "I'm proud to be awarding $25,000 to innovative teachers in North Dakota this year."


The grant winners represent schools and districts across North Dakota.


2011 Teachers and Technology grant recipients:

  • Kelly Dokken, Grafton Middle School. ”A Novel Way to Read” project to help inspire readers through the use of Apple iPads and ebook software in language arts classes.|
  • Joel Foss and Brett Omdahl, Manvel Public School, “Interactive Classroom Response with Quizdom” project adding software and student clickers for interactive learning. 
  • Barbara Sandstrom, Bismarck Roosevelt Elementary, “F.O.C.U.S” project to improve classroom achievement through audio enhancement system, iPods and netbook technology. 
  • Molly Bestge, Gretchen Peterson and Gretchen Stafslien, West Fargo STEM Center,“iPads for Learning” project targets using new technology in all subjects.
  • Virjean Cramer and JoAnn Teets, West Fargo Westside Elementary, “Lego Education WEDO Robotics project” to enhance science education for elementary students.


“It’s vital for our future that we put the best teaching and learning technologies in the hands of teachers and students,” said Dan Pullen, North Dakota Educational Technology Council director. “The Qwest Foundation continues to champion education and technology in our state, and as a result, more of our teachers will be able to advance their students’ classroom achievements.”


The grants were awarded to teachers through a competitive grant process administered by the North Dakota Educational Technology Council. To find out more about Teachers and Technology grants go to